Transport for london

Do you operate HGV's inside the M25?

Direct Vision Standard (DVS) and the Progressive System (PSS) update

In March 2021 the DVS (Direct Vision Standard) was introduced, imposing fines on vehicles over 12T GVW for entering the DVS zone in and around London.

This has now been reviewed and upgraded to the Progressive Safe System (PSS) which goes live on 28th October 2024 with vehicles rated below 3 stars being affected.

How long does a permit last for?

Your permits duration will depend on your vehicles star rating. Please see the table below from Transport for London (TfL) for more information.

permit lenght

what you need to know

Over 250,000 vehicles now have DVS permits.
Any vehicles rated under 3 stars need to update to PSS.
Thousands more vehicles do not have DVS permits and will be under 3 stars. These will require permits to access London without being fined.

Progressive safe system

Relevant to all HGV's (over 12T GVW) rated 0, 1 and 2 stars. This comes into enforcement from 28th October 2024

Learn more

Enforcement zone

The enforcement zone covers central London and some outer London. To view the enforcement zone please click below

Learn more

what's my star rating

We can obtain your star ratings for you. You need the star rating to know what, if required, any extra equipment to install

Learn more

Direct Vision Standard

DVS went live in 2021. Certificates under 3 stars are valid until October 2024 for HGV's over 12T GVW

Learn more

The application process

The application process varies depending on your star rating. We have simplified the process for you

Learn more

contact us

We can help you get ready for your DVS application by providing star ratings to DVS and PSS equipment quotes

Contact us


The direct vision is calculated from what the driver can see from their seat with no enhancements such as camera systems or mirrors. The level of direct vison determines the star rating. The star rating is awarded on the production line by the manufacturer.

The star rating will not change even when you add additional equipment.


The red highlighted areas show where the driver can see from their seat without assistance - this is known as limited direct vision.


The blue highlighted areas show where the driver can see from their seat without assistance - this is known as good direct vision.


A - zero star eye point
B - one star eye point
C - three star eye point
D - four star eye point